Why are new driver's shaft lenght 45.75.

bookie5153
Occasional Contributor

how is the club swingweight adjusted with shaft ordered at 44.50

0 Kudos
putts2much
New Contributor

I have the same question, as I would like to order the M3 driver at 44.5"

Will they just cut the shaft and have the SW in the C range?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
bookie5153
Occasional Contributor

Let me elaborate on the subject. I am a club builder & fitter. When I fit a golfer, grip size & shaft lenght are paramount to this process. Hitting the club on the sweet spot  is the most important factor. In the 80's to 90's driver lenght's were 44.0  in. , headweights were about 205 grams & swingweighted to D1-D2. Lighter grips & shaft weight allowed lower total club weight,  thus faster swing speed, distance. F=M times A. M being club head mass, A being cubhead speed. F is golf ball velocity. Increasing shaft lenght, will increase clubhead speed. The clubhead weighting must be increased, & put exactly in the right positions to enhance the clubhead designs. The overall clubhead weight should be increased. The result should be different heads for shaft lenght decrease.

0 Kudos
bookie5153
Occasional Contributor